CAMPING with a BABY……yes we did that!

So about a week ago my husband , our 21 month old son ( about a 1 year and a half for those not used to baby ages) and I went camping in the woods of Red Sequoia National Preserve. It was a daunting endeavor as I have never been camping in my life and never expected to be out there for the first time with my young son.

My husband and I were both a little bit scared, in the middle of nowhere what if he hit his head on a rock or went into the river and got dragged off!! Our nightmare’s not withstanding we did it.

Our reward was one of the best experiences I have ever had. Our baby boy LOVED it every single minute of it. Let me also clarify that we went CAMPING not “Glamcamping”, which I did not even know was a thing.  For those as ignorant as me here is an example:

Image result for glam camping

Where do you even find an outlet?! And how do you transport all of that? Is this done over a year and left there? I have no idea how this is possible…Well needless to say that this was NOT our experience. No Glam-camping and no camper.

We were in a tent in sleeping bags. On top of all this roughing it in nature my husband forgot to pack ANY cooking equipment. No pans no utensils NOTHING, but much to my surprise none of that really mattered we got foil and some disposable tin pans and made due. No one was upset or stressed or bothered. We were too busy enjoying everything.

We weren’t crabby or upset or bothered. Instead we were calm, happy and had the time of our lives. Being outside unplugged from Facebook, Instagram, the news and out of reach of everyone.  We enjoyed each other, the scenerary and the calm that all of this brought us.

The trip centered us both and brought a whole new perspective. One that both my husband and I sorely needed. The views we had could not have been better and I am looking forward to an amazing new tradition for our family 🙂

 

Red Sequoia (1)

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a comment